Go to home page

JOHN TUFFREY
Cabinetmaker and Chairmaker

Home
Why buy from me?
Furniture
Kitchenware
Other work
Work in progress
How to order
Contact
Links

Links

Antiques

If you like traditional furniture you may enjoy the Regional Furniture Society (regionalfurnituresociety.org), which studies the rich diversity of British regional furniture-making traditions. And if you have old furniture that is in need of repair, you would do well to contact the British Antique Furniture Restorers' Association (www.bafra.org.uk) or the locally run Hampshire Antique Restoration (www.hampshire-antique-restoration.co.uk).

Bread

Good bread and good breadboards go together well! As well as the excellent range of flours from Doves Farm (www.dovesfarm.co.uk) in Berkshire, I also like Gilchester’s (www.gilchesters.com) wholewheat bread flour. Andrew Whitley’s www.breadmatters.com and the Real Bread Campaign (www.sustainweb.org/realbread) are also worth a look. My bread is often baked in a wood-fired oven using offcuts and shavings from making furniture. It is proving to be very fuel-efficient and produces an excellent crust!

Cheese

There is so much good cheese in Britain today: Caws Cenarth (www.cawscenarth.co.uk); Sparkenhoe Red Leicester (www.leicestershirecheese.co.uk); Leon Downey’s Llangloffan Farmhouse Cheese (www.carmarthenshirecheese.co.uk); and, Doddington’s Berwick Edge (www.doddingtondairy.co.uk), to name but a few. However, for cheese wedding cakes (to go on my cheese wedding cake boards), see the excellent House of Cheese (www.houseofcheese.co.uk) in Tetbury, Gloucestershire.

Local Markets

Some of my kitchenware is available at my local Country Market in Bishops Waltham. The Market is open Friday mornings throughout most of the year. Check out Jane Taylor's website for Bespoke Iced Cookies (www.ameliajanescookies.co.uk). Her produce can be found at the Bishops Waltham Country Market too. More details about Country Markets in Hampshire and beyond can be found in www.hampshirecountrymarkets.co.uk and www.country-markets.co.uk.

Pottery

If you own decent furniture you should have good tableware to go with it. Make lunch an experience, not a chore. I particularly like Sean Miller’s green tableware (he now lives in Brittany). See www.seanpots.com for plenty of examples of his work. Closer to home are the distinctive ware from the Selborne Pottery in Hampshire (www.selbornepottery.co.uk), Christine McCole’s Hafod Hill Pottery in Carmarthenshire (www.hafodhillpottery.freeserve.co.uk), and the renowned John Leach in Muchelney, Somerset (www.johnleachpottery.co.uk). See also the Craft Potters' Association at www.cpaceramics.co.uk and the www.studiopottery.co.uk site.

Upholstery and Rush seats

The Guild of Traditional Upholsterers (gtu.org.uk) is a good place to start should you need your upholstery refreshing or replacing, be it antique or modern. Rush seats and chair caning are dealt with by a different organisation: the Basketmakers' Association (www.basketassoc.org), whose members deal with all things rush, cane and willow.

Woodturning

There are many woodturners around the country who are hidden away in workshops just like us furnituremakers. Look up the Register of Professional Woodturners (www.rpturners.co.uk) to unearth one from a pile of shavings! Of particular interest is the artist, sculptor and woodturner, Jay Heryet at www.jayheryet.co.uk.

 
John Tuffrey
Waltham Chase
Hampshire
United Kingdom
 
Tel. 01489 809821
Mob. 07831 171906
 
Copyright and Design Rights © 2017 John Tuffrey. All rights reserved.